Fighting tuition fees in the UK: University for everyone!

When I went to University, there were no tuition fees. My mum and dad paid for my rent and food and I worked in the holidays (vacations) to pay for other things.

When my brother went to University, the Labour government introduced 1000 pound tuition fees for the first time in generations.

Fair enough, some people thought. The middle and upper class an chip in for their education. Slippery slope, some thought. Next stop: US style pay-for-your-own-education system.

As it turned out, the new Conservative-Liberal government has just proposed 9000 pound tuition fees. (If my brother and I were going to University now, I have no idea how we’d begin to pay for that.)

Follow the protests here (live blog).

footage here.

This entry was posted in Education, Personal, UK. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fighting tuition fees in the UK: University for everyone!

  1. Pingback: “We know what they are up to” | global politics for everyday life

Leave a Reply

